The John Williams Award for the talented Mr Greisiger

Steffen Greisiger, composer of the “Africa Light / Gray Zone” score, won the John Williams Award for Best Film Score, awarded by The Long Island Film Festival, New York.

Congratulations, Steffen!!!! We are very proud of you and your stunning work!

The official press release comes here:

Steffen Greisiger

The Long Island Film Festival is pleased to announce the recipients of its Pioneer Awards. Conceived by LIFF Vice President Thomas Santorelli, a historian of early American cinema, the awards are named after actors, directors, cinematographers, that worked for the pioneer movie studio, Vitagraph Company of America at its branch studio in Bay Shore, Suffolk County in 1916. The Vitagraph branch studio in Bay Shore was a small part of its huge studios in Flatbush that occupied five square blocks. For all of 1916, Vitagraph produced twenty-seven features and shorts there. Developing the film business along with Thomas Edison and Biograph, Vitagraph became omnipresent not just in the United States, but all over the world. The Vitagraph Building in Bay Shore still exists today. The structure is the only standing studio from early American cinema in the world making it the most historically important building in Suffolk County. The names associated with the LIFF Pioneer Awards were not just famous in their time, but were extraordinary participants in the development of cinema, America’s gift to the world.

A few of the awards are named after contemporary film figures related to Long Island such as Mario Puzo, a long time Bay Shore resident, composer John Williams who was born on Long Island, and the late actress, Adrienne Shelly, also from Long Island.

The LIFF awards ceremony will be held at The Scully Estate, (now Seatuck, a wildlife preserve) on May 14, 2011 from 7: pm – 11:00 pm in the estate’s ballroom.

Here are our award recipients.

The Ralph Ince Directors Award
Evan Brenner
The Riddle

The Jules Cronjager Award for Cinematography
Richard Dallett
The Riddle

The J. Stuart Blackton Award for Animation
Signe Baumane
The Mario Puzo Screenplay Award
Evan Brenner, Danny Brenner
The Riddle

The John Williams Award for Film Scoring
Steffen Greisiger
Africa Light – Gray Zone

Best Student Film
The Indian and the Samurai
Shilpi Roy

Black Tie Screenplay Competition
Joseph Sikorski, Michael Calomino
Fragments From Olympus: The Vision of Nikola Tesla